h1

Feeling Unimportant

May 25, 2008

MOVED!

Yesterady I found out that a kid who was in my COM 101 class freshman year is showing a film at Cannes. WHAT!? Now, I know this is the time of life when you start seeing all the things people your age are accomplishing and start feeling insignificant and unimportant, but this is the first time it has happened to me personally, making is exponentially more important and upsetting than any other instance that may have happened to others. 

Today I didn’t leave my bedroom. Really. I’ve moved from my bed to my computer desk and…oh wait, I did make a pit stop in my kitchen to grab snacks once an hour. How wonderfully world changing. I’m currently contemplating whether I’d rather spend my summer being a barista at Starbucks or a hostess at P.F. Changs. This kid, who I was not a fan of in my class again making this instance all the more annoying, is screening his class project for the French Film Elite! Now, I don’t particularly want to show a film at Cannes or even direct a film. I was just already feeling mildly useless and lazy, and this isn’t helping. 

You know what also isn’t helping (on a completely unrelated but just as upsetting and annoying note)? My dad’s new blackberry, which he keeps emailing me from. And facebook messaging me from. And calling me from. And sending me pictures of him holding it from. Bah. I think I would feel instantly more useful as a human being if I had a Blackberry Curve. Who is with me?

3 comments

  1. I personally like my Blackberry Pearl. Haha. Too bad I’m poor and can’t afford the internet service. Oh well. It makes me look like I’m important.


  2. The thing is, I read the article in the Globe about those BU guys, and I was disappointed to find out it was the people who made “Story of a Lonely John,” because I thought it was a pretty boring and altogether unimpressive endeavor–very proficient, I admit, but not at all innovative or interesting. Maybe it’s of a style that appeals to the Cannes crew, but…

    I’m happy for them, and the press that BU is getting, though. And I laughed because in the article they said BU was mostly a party school, but you could tell who the film kids were because they were the ones who looked like they hadn’t slept in days and were having interesting conversations. Too. True.

    Keep on keepin’ on, Amanda!


  3. Hey I read about those guys, too! I didn’t know you actually had a class with them, that’s kind of surreal. I mean, I worked with an actor who has since been on Broadway in a production my freshman year but I never had a class with him. Either way, professional jealousy isn’t fun.

    Also, my dad did that when he got his blackberry and found out my phone could get pictures. Also, completely coincidentally, he figured out *this morning* that text messages work just as well (don’t know how he missed it) and woke me up with one. Great.

    And hey, I’m still in Boston until Saturday and would love to see you! Anything to help you get out of your apartment, right? 🙂



Leave a Reply

