h1

My Life on the Big Screen

April 1, 2008

MOVED!

Sadly, I started writing this entry last night, got too tired, then figured I could just write it at work. It is now 1:30, and the only reason I have time to finish it now is because everyone is at lunch watching the How I Met Your Mother  episode with Britney Spears, and I had to escape, having already suffered through Britney acting four times. Of course, they had to watch the newest episode that I haven’t seen while I was making my lunch only to turn on last week’s when I got in the room. Life is truly unfair.

Anyway, to the topic of the post: Last night while watching The Hills, I was excited to see that the girls had returned to LA so I could now obsess over every locale the girls go to, figuring out if I have been there or not. Last night, I did pretty well. Heidi and her nameless co-worker dined at Food Court LA, where we ate for my roommate’s birthday. Audrina, Lauren, and Lo discussed something super important (as everything on that show is) at Lola’s, a bar we went to on our first weekend in LA, and Heidi and the same co-worker walked to Bolthouse, which is a block away from one of my offices! I looked for my car parked on the street in the background, but alas, it wasn’t there. To make up for it, they showed an establishing shot of my apartment complex. I feel like a true Los Angelean (Los Angelesian? Los Angelen? Whatever…), except for that whole never wanting to actually move here thing.

When I thought about my excitement over The Hills, I remembered that only last Friday, I had the same feeling but with good old Boston U. We had a special screening of “21” for our program, since they filmed the movie on our campus last winter. (No, MIT wouldn’t let them film on their campus. Yes, my best friend saw Kate Bosworth at our gym.) In the movie, I saw Kate Bosworth make eyes at Jim Sturgess beneath the track where I run. I saw Jim Sturgess run into the dorm a block away from my old dorm where I ate lunch almost every day last year. I saw the entire cast strut down the hallway of the College of Arts and Sciences where I myself have strut to class a good number of times. It was kind of odd, because they kept saying it was MIT, when clearly to me it was nothing like MIT. It almost took me out of the story. I got over it, however, because my school was in a movie…and that’s pretty cool.

Alright, well, this post really had no point except to point out that I am closely connected to various sets of both film and television. It also served as a nice break from the constant stream of reading I’ve been doing for the past two days at work. My eyes are blurry from going back and forth between scripts and my computer. Thankfully, my professor is out of town this week, so I’m free after work to do whatever I please, which sadly is probably read, BUT I will read whatever I please! Take that world!

3 comments

  1. Ahhhhhh! What IS The Hills?? Is it reality? Is it scripted? Are the people in it celebrities? I’M SO CONFUSED! Why is The Hills dominating my twitter feed??


  2. @Benjamin : I will try to answer these questions that plague many of us: The Hills is nothing but wildly addiction fluff. It is scripted television posing as reality, which is loosely based on the lives of the girls on the show. Said girls are only celebrities from the show…and in their own minds. It dominates twitter, because, as I said, it’s wildly addicting. I wish I could stop watching…

    I apologize for all “Hills” viewers everywhere for exposing you to the madness.


  3. Los Angeleno is what I’ve heard.

    BTW, I don’t know if you’ve ever seen Steve Martin’s comic magnum opus L.A. Story (at least, that’s what I call it, given as it’s the single greatest movie he made while he was in his comedy-tinged-with-romance phase he went on in the late ’80s, and I think it was his last or at least the one he spent the longest making, before he went dramatic with a side family comedy to the pay the bills)? (Wow, long parenthetical. I should stop this one now before it’s too late.) I can only imagine that you would find it at least 25% funnier now having lived in L.A. for some time. I recommend it.



Leave a Reply

