h1

Amanda Recommends : LA Edition

March 30, 2008

MOVED!

Before I get sucked into an all-night Degrassi marathon, I decided to make a little list of my favorite spots in LA, just in case anyone wants to tour the city, Amanda style. Here goes:

FOOD

Joan’s on Third (8350 West Third Street) A popular celebrity hang-out where I personally believe their food to be baked with cocaine. Halfway through the week, I’ll start thinking about the Grilled Maple Rosemary Chicken sandwich, until it becomes the only thing on my mind. There is not a lot of seating, but I somehow always find a table. Plus, they bring you adorable bottles of water for free. I also recommend their Chinese Chicken Salad. It’s light but filling, and amazingly delicious.

Eat Well (7385 Beverly Blvd.) – a short walk from my apartment, this little restaurant with plenty of sidewalk seating has become my group’s go-to brunch place. Their breakfast plates are huge and pretty reasonably price, plus their sweet potato fries are TO DIE for. The wait staff is pretty cute as well.

Pink Taco (10250 Santa Monica Blvd.) – The name is questionable, but the food is fabulous. I don’t even like Mexican food, but I ordered and adored their fish tacos, which came with a cilantro-chile sauce and a fabulous guacamole. They keep you in chips all night, and their margaritas are huge and amazingly worth the $10 price tag.

25 Degrees ( 7000 Hollywood Blvd) – Located in the famed Roosevelt Hotel, this hamburger bar served one of the best hamburgers I’ve ever eaten. You choose the meat, cheese, and any topings to make your own perfect burger. Plus, you absolutely have to start out with their fries, which are seasoned with sea salt and thyme, an original and delicious combination. When I left, I felt like I was going to explode, but it was totally worth it.

BARS and CLUBS

86 (6533 Hollywood Blvd) – My group’s go-to place on Hollywood Blvd, this bar never has a line, but usually has a good crowd. Located in a basement space, the bar has a cool vibe, with live bands, plenty of seating, and fun red tinted chandeliers. Plus the drinks aren’t too expensive…for LA that is.

Boulevard 3 (6523 W Sunset Blvd) Our go-to club. There is usually a short wait, and guys have to pay a cover, but we never have any trouble getitng in. Once inside, you have a choice of hanging out in the large outdoor patio area, the dark and cozy lounge, or the huge dance floor and bar. The crowd is slightly crazy, egged on by the muscular guys on stilts walking around and the group of dancers that put on a show every few hours, but it’s always a good time.

El Carmen (8138 W. Third St.) The only place we seem to go on birthday’s, this Mexican themed bar is a little on the dive-end of the things, but makes amazing margaritas and sangria. We always can find a table, and the walls are covered in cool vintage Spanish movie posters.

I’m sure I’m leaving out some places we’ve been and loved, but these are clearly stand-outs in my book. I’ll have to do one for Boston when I get back in the summer. Unfortunately, I’ve now made myself starving. Too bad I already ate my leftovers from Pink Taco.

4 comments

  1. Three things: a) I love Degrassi more than a 20-year-old should.

    b) I have heard a lot of good things about Dave Eggers’ “A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius,” I hope to hear what you think of it!

    c) I’m loving your blog! And thank you from the bottom of my heart for your comment on my entry, isn’t it so great to know that there’s someone out there who knows exactly how you feel?


  2. I will eat anywhere that has guacamole- for real. I’m in love with the stuff. And I also love love love! sweet potato fries. Yum


  3. i’ve just recently been to blvd 3 and i loved it. such a fun place and huge! definitely a good time.


  4. @ Melissa : SO glad you came by. It is great knowing other people are in this same ridiculous situation! And never be ashamed of loving Degrassi!

    @ Maxie : Guacamole and sweet potato fries = My life in LA…maybe not together though.

    @ Katelin : Glad I’m not the only one liking Blvd 3. Sometimes I wonder if I’m the only one who likes these places, because I think they are hip and all that, when in actuality I just don’t know where the actual hip places are.



Leave a Reply

