h1

LA in List Form

March 27, 2008

MOVED!

Today’s been a nice little day. I didn’t have to go in to work, so I went on an excursion to Target and The Grove to buy presents for my new sorority grand-little back in Boston. I’m sad I’m missing our Big/Little Week traditions, since it is really my favorite part of being in the sorority. (Basically, every new member gets assigned a big sister, but they don’t know who it is. During Big/Little week, they do a bunch of events, getting clues and TONS of presents from their bigs until on Friday, we have revealing, and everyone finds out who their big is. My little is taking a little this year, which makes me feel old…) Anyway, I got her some fun stuff that I’ll have to mail out this weekend.

To waste a bit more time today, I’ve decided to start a pro/con list of LA, just to help sort through some of my feelings. Here goes:

Things I Love About LA: 

  • The Weather! Seriously, it’s beautiful
  • The possibility of seeing celebrities
  • Having time to sing in my car.
  • Not having to rely on public transportation.
  • The fact that every movie released is playing somewhere in the city.
  • Living  withing walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, AND two Ralph’s.
  • Being able to call people on the East Coast in the morning without being annoying.
  • The overabundance of cool bars and clubs.
  • My new BULA friends.

Things I Hate About LA:

  • The fact that people can’t drive in the rain…and the lack of proper drainage systems in my parking lot.
  • Being afraid of getting run over by paparazzi.
  • TRAFFIC! It takes me an hour to get home from work…and I only work 7 miles from my apartment.
  • Parking, aka the bane of my existence.
  • Having to pay $13 after taxes to see a movie.
  • 8% sales tax on EVERYTHING
  • Not being able to call my mom after 7 for fear that she is asleep.
  • The lines and $10 drinks at bars and clubs. Plus the sketchy guys…so many sketchy guys.
  • Missing my BU friends…in addition to the many groups of friends I already miss automatically most of the time.

I’m sure I will think of more as time goes by, but my roommate’s Dexter DVDs are calling to me.

3 comments

  1. I just found your blog and I live in the LA area and pretty much agree with all your pros and cons, haha. The fact that practically all movies are released here is a huge perk for me…the fact that they cost an arm and leg now, not so hot.


  2. @katelin: It’s especially sad at the Grove theaters, because they have like 8 different prices for different times of the days, so I sometimes think I’ve gotten lucky and will get to pay less, but sadly, it never works out.


  3. Ok, so I just wanted to say I miss you. I’ve done nothing but catch up on Chuck and re-watch all of Greek for the past two days, and I’ve read too many message boards its not even funny anymore. And you’re the only person I know who doesn’t hear this and judge my lack of social life, etc.

    I read that you’re worried about life after college and actually knowing what you want to do. I’m sorry you’re going through that now after all this.

    I hope we can actually talk soon for longer than like twenty minutes. Hopefully I will make it to Boston to see you this summer. When will you be back there?

    -Kaitlin



Leave a Reply

