h1

Too much TV? Never…

October 4, 2007

MOVED!

In the last two days I have watched 6 hours of prime time television. Sometimes I think about the amount of time I spend sitting in front of the TV, and I think I should be worried about myself, but I’m not. Then I start to worry about the fact that I’m not worried about myself and my excessive television watching, and that makes me even more worried. Or not worried. I’m kind of confused at this point. Probably because of the fact that my eyes are blurred over from watching too much TV…and then moving over to the computer to write about it.

To give you a quick taste: Yesterday, I watched America’s Next Top Model, because a girl who acts on Bay State is on this season (!!), while I was taping Pushing Daisies. I then watched Pushing Daisies, which I LOVED. I was worried that all the hype would make it an automatic letdown, but I don’t think I have genuinely “Awwed” at a television show more than I did in that hour. It was beautiful and whimsical and genuinely funny. Fabulous. After that, I went back to reality television to watch the Top Chef finale, which was heartbreaking. Can’t a girl just keep it together ONE time on that show and win one for the team? I mean, I get that Hung was the best chef, blah, blah, blah, but come on, Casey! Needless to say, things were thrown in anger during the lame live announcement. The knife twist: Marcel from last season was Hung’s friend. Surprising? Not in the least. Erk. After that upset, I was more than happy I had taped Dirty Sexy Money to lift my spirits like only Peter Krause can.

Today was a bit happier overall with the premier of 30 Rock and a new Office. 30 Rock wasn’t the best episode, but it did have some classic Alec Baldwin moments, thanks to Milf Island, and I never say no to Jerry Seinfeld since his stand-up has provided inside jokes for my family to last us years…and years. (“I don’t want to be in the luge!”) The Office then continued to warm my heart with Jim and Pam, especially when Jim noticed that perhaps Ryan couldn’t get any girl he wanted. I was very surprised, however, by how sad the break-up of Dwangela made me. Not that I think it will stick, but their dysfunction brings me so much joy. What other couple could bring in a cat named Garbage? I didn’t quite need to see Micheal and Dwight freaking out and driving into a lake, but I did laugh out loud, so I guess I can’t be too annoyed with the over the top antics.

Alright. I guess after boring everyone with all this television talk, I could give some real life news. This is like every conversation I have with Stephanie. We talk about television for an hour, then briefly recap things that have actually occurred, get bored and hang up. I actually know very little about what goes on in her life, except for what my mom tells me, which is usually grossly exaggerated to the point where I have visions of her stumbling down the street, disheveled and surrounded by floating papers. Anyway…real things: Jillian, one of my best friends, was officially accepted into the LA program two days ago, so we are both actually going. We were a little worried there for a while when COM was giving her a hard time about her GPA, but things have worked out. We can officially start planning our takeover of the west coast. We may or may not be making lists every time we watch The Hills of the places we need to hit up. (If we could ever actually get in, which is an entire discussion in itself that probably doesn’t end in our favor.) Every time something happens, the entire thing seems more and more real. There have been some moments where it is real in a sad way, like when we’ll talk about things that might happen on Bay State next semester or about Spring Break. I realize I won’t be here, which feels like I’m moving again for the 800th time. I am a little scared it’ll feel like the last two years of high school again, where my life is kind of going on with out me in a place where I no longer am. Then I think about LA and how many different and amazing experiences I could be having there, and all my sadness goes away. I mean, if you are going to leave your life for a while, what cooler place to go. For me, anyway.

My whole life plan kind of hinges on this semester too. I’ve been saying I’m going to move out to LA after graduation since I came to school here, but it is really based on this experience. If I love it, then that just solifidies it. I’ll move out there. If I hate it, I will kind of be left with an empty slate. I’ll have no idea where to go, except maybe New York, but I don’t know if I could really live there. Stephanie and I were talking about future plans today. We think we would make an awesome producing partnership, as we both came up with the same pilot idea for different classes about two weeks ago. We both encountered the same problems from other people with it, but both argued the same way as to why it would be SUCH a cool idea! Have I mentioned that we are the same person? After that talk, it became weirdly real. If I graduate early (which I’m really considering…) I’ll be done with college in a year and three months. That is nothing. Then I’m grown up. Like a real person. And I can only hope and pray that I can have someone like Stephanie with me when I have to actually face that, because if I end up on the opposite end of the country from BU, my parents, AND my sister, I think I might melt down.

Ok. This is way long. Like, I’m frightened for your sanity if you finished reading this long, so I’m going to go take in my 7th hour of television with some Daily Show and Colbert.

Leave a Reply

